WASHINGTON, DC – Pennsylvania U.S. Senator John Fetterman this week joined his colleagues Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) and Congresswoman Sylvia R. Garcia (D-TX-29) to introduce legislation that would provide permanent safeguards for pregnant and postpartum women in ICE and CBP custody.

“Even the thought of a pregnant woman or new mother being shackled, no matter the circumstance, should be shocking to everyone. It’s cruel, inhumane, and unnecessary,” said Senator Fetterman. “We must pass this bill to ensure the protections for pregnant and post-partum women in ICE custody, where the Biden Administration has banned shackling, are made permanent and extended to women in CBP custody.”

The Stop Shackling and Detaining Pregnant Women Act will protect the health and safety of pregnant, postpartum, and lactating people in immigration detention by establishing a presumption of release, prohibiting any agency under the U.S. Department of Homeland Security from shackling pregnant women in its custody—including those in the custody of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) and Customs and Border Protection (CBP)—and setting new standards of care and transparency for the treatment of pregnant women and youth.

The Stop Shackling and Detaining Pregnant Women Act is supported by: The American Civil Liberties Union, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Anti-Defamation League, Center for Reproductive Rights, Church World Service, MomsRising, National Asian Pacific American Women’s Forum, National Women’s Law Center, Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and Reproductive Freedom for All (formerly NARAL Pro-Choice America).

In addition to Senator Fetterman, the legislation is cosponsored by U.S. Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Laphonza Butler (D-CA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Chris Coons (D-DE), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Ed Markey (D-MA), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jack Reed (D-RI), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Peter Welch (D-VT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), and Ron Wyden (D-OR).

A one-pager on the legislation is HERE.

The full text of the legislation is HERE.